How can any person be so thoughtless and hateful that they actual take another person’s life? How do you rationalize your response when you learn that it’s not one, it’s not two, it’s not even twenty that are dead? How do you rationalize your gladness when you learn that the shooter was among the victims? How do you find closure? I’m not sure you ever really do.

I remember the horror and helplessness that faced me as I heard about the Columbine shootings while in high schoos, and that I had to pull over on the side of the road while on the way home from a track meet because I was so blinded by tears of grief and rage and sorrow. I remember the increadible fear that gripped me when three separate bomb threats were made to my high school in the following days, and how, even after declaring the school safe, we were allowed to leave, mostly because the administration and police couldn’t get us to go back into the building.

I can only imagine the terror that the people in Virginia faced this morning, and my thoughts and prayers are with the students, faculty, staff and families for future safety, mental and physical recover, if at all possible, for eventual internal peace with the situation and closure, if they can find it.

